GALLANT by V.E. Schwab – double review!

Everything casts a shadow. Even the world we live in. And as with every shadow, there is a place where it must touch. A seam, where the shadow meets its source.

#1 New York Times–bestselling author Victoria Schwab weaves a dark and original tale about the place where the world meets its shadow, and the young woman beckoned by both sides. The Secret Garden meets Crimson Peak in this stand-alone novel perfect for readers of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman.

Olivia Prior has grown up in Merilance School for girls, and all she has of her past is her mother’s journal—which seems to unravel into madness. Then, a letter invites Olivia to come home—to Gallant. Yet when Olivia arrives, no one is expecting her. But Olivia is not about to leave the first place that feels like home, it doesn’t matter if her cousin Matthew is hostile or if she sees half-formed ghouls haunting the hallways.

Olivia knows that Gallant is hiding secrets, and she is determined to uncover them. When she crosses a ruined wall at just the right moment, Olivia finds herself in a place that is Gallant—but not. The manor is crumbling, the ghouls are solid, and a mysterious figure rules over all. Now Olivia sees what has unraveled generations of her family, and where her father may have come from.

Olivia has always wanted to belong somewhere, but will she take her place as a Prior, protecting our world against the Master of the House? Or will she take her place beside him?

New York Times bestselling author Victoria Schwab crafts a vivid and lush novel that grapples with the demons that are often locked behind closed doors. An eerie, standalone saga about life, death, and the young woman beckoned by both. Readers of Neil Gaiman, Holly Black, Melissa Albert, and Garth Nix will quickly lose themselves in this novel with crossover appeal for all ages.


Title : Gallant
Author : V.E. Schwab
Format : eARC / Physical ARC
Page Count : 352 / 310
Genre : YA fantasy
Publisher : Greenwillow Books / Titan Books
Release Date : March 1, 2022 / March 8, 2022

Reviewer : Hollis / Micky
Rating : ★ ★ ★ / ★ ★ ★ ★.5


Hollis’ 3 star review

I’m a wee bit bummed about this one only because at the onset it just felt like it had so much potential. And while I didn’t hate where it went, it just didn’t seem to live up to itself. Not to mention I’m not entirely sure this one really had a point?

The biggest draw to this one, beyond the author (though I’ll note I’m not a super fan but have enjoyed more than I’ve disliked), was the kind of person Olivia herself represented. Don’t expect much dialogue in this novel because, surprise, Olivia is mute. I wasn’t quite sure how this would work and yet somehow I didn’t miss the lack of dialogue at all. There were some conveniences, of course, as this is fantasy and there are certain characters who manage to find their way around this but otherwise.. a few characters did sign with her or she would make do communicating in other ways.

The other element I really enjoyed were the kinds of creatures that Olivia is somewhat haunted by. I loved how Schwab described these, how we learned how Olivia grew to be aware of them, and those interactions. And the greater role they later play.

Outside of this though, the plot itself? I don’t know. I think it hyped itself up somehow and I was rather left wanting. The story itself is rather sad, or melancholy, and yet it’s also pitched against this big drama and end-of-the-world stakes and somehow they don’t quite marry all that well. Plus the ending itself is.. well, sad. And almost open ended? Maybe not totally but certainly, somehow, unsatisfying even though I normally like that kind of end. But it just didn’t work here.

I’ll be curious to see more reviews as we get closer to release (I’m writing this on January twenty-third) and determine if I’m on par with most readers or the outlier. But, having said all that, I definitely wouldn’t talk you out of picking it up. It’s an easy quick read, for all that it took me a week to start and finish (work and life distractions, not boredom), and I may have even been moved emotionally at a certain part. So. Yes, if this sounds like your cup of tea, do not think this review is trying to convince you otherwise.

** I received an ARC from the publisher (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review. **


Micky’s 4.5 star review

Headlines:
Intense creep level at times
Ghouls, grief and grand houses
Sad and lilting

There was so much to unravel in Gallant and in fact on finishing, I’ve not unravelled it all. This was such a clever book, incredibly easy to read and get into, with themes that could be less easy for some and a consistent level of creep and eerieness. I loved the eerieness, the dark atmosphere and how that ratcheted up to a level of heightened tension towards the end. Tenterhooks, people.

The protagonist, Olivia was unable or unwilling to talk, the former, I think and her world was grey with splashes of occasional colour. The opening up of her life to Gallant seemed like opportunity but it was a figurative can of worms, pandora’s box, a mess. The people inhabiting Gallant, Edgar and Hannah were warm and positive new influences on Olivia’s dull and austere life. Matthew was a different matter, but you just felt the more to his story.

The way the story eeked out, was haunting, unexpected and it had me on the edge of my seat; it was hard to put this book down. The book was brimming with sadness, it felt like a lilting melody and ultimately, that’s the feeling I’ve come away with. I am 95% satisfied with a slice of I wish.

This story was crafted with skill, ingenuity and former (and possibly future) reader’s tears. The illustrations and formatting of this book are incredibly special and bring much to the feels you get from reading.

Run, says her blood.
Stay, says her bones.”

Thank you to Titan Books for the stunning review copy.

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started