THE SKY IS MINE by Amy Beashel – Blog Tour

No one has ever asked Izzy what she wants. She’s about to change all that…

In a house adept at sweeping problems under the carpet, seventeen-year-old Izzy feels silenced. As her safety grows uncertain, Izzy know three things for sure. She knows not to tell her mother that Jacob Mansfield has been threatening to spread those kinds of photos around college. She knows to quiet the grief that she’s been abandoned by her best friend Grace. And, seeing her mother conceal the truth of her stepdad’s control, Izzy also knows not to mention how her heart splinters and her stomach churns whenever he enters a room.

When the flimsy fabric of their life starts to unravel, Izzy and her mum must find their way out of the silence and use the power in their voices to rediscover their worth.

For fans of Sara Barnard, Louise O’Neill and E. Lockhart, The Sky is Mine is a powerful exploration of rape culture and domestic abuse, and a moving story of women learning to love themselves enough to demand to be heard.


Title : The Sky Is Mine
Author : Amy Beashel
Format : Paperback
Page Count : 304
Genre : YA Contemporary
Publisher : Rock the Boat
Release Date : February 6, 2020

Reviewer : Micky
Rating : ★ ★ ★ ★


Micky’s 4 star review

See that bright, shiny cover? THE SKY IS MINE is a book that shines but not with cheery goodness. No, this isn’t a story to get comfortable with, it’s a story to get uncomfortable with but it’s really important. This is a spoiler-free review though, so expect a little vagueness.

Izzy was a young woman crushed. Crushed by her home life, crushed by manipulation and crushed by the demise of the most important friendship of her life. Izzy had lost her voice, herself and her perspective. This was a story of spiralling down and then the slow, long swim to the surface.

If things had been different, maybe I could have told Mum…
If things had been different, maybe my dad would have opened his door and his arms…
Things aren’t different though. Things are what they are.

The themes in this book couldn’t be more relevant than they are to contemporary times. The story explored how social media, something said or captured and tracking apps can all make life seemingly impossible. Izzy’s life was on overload but in so many ways. Her story was about trust, grief, finding her voice and her way back to relationships.

THE SKY IS MINE was incredibly discomforting to read but completely worth the journey. There was hope housed within the pages of this book and that made the journey a path that was doable. The narrative voice conveyed by Amy Beashel was compelling and absorbing, taking the difficult and making it readable without losing impact or power. I admired her ability to tackle the subjects in this book, it was a difficult task which she accomplished so well. I am excited to read more from her.

Thank you to Rock The Boat for the finished review copy.