HOUSE SWAP by Olivia Beirne

You can learn a lot about someone when you swap houses. . .
Twins Katy and Rachel don’t know much about each other’s lives anymore.

Rachel thinks that Katy is a high-flying event planner in London, while Katy thinks that Rachel lives in idyllic marital bliss in the countryside.

Each sister believes the other has created a perfect life – but the truth is that neither twin has the life she pretends she does.

And when these sisters unexpectedly swap houses for a week, they’re in for a big shock.

But it might just be the wake-up call they’ve both been waiting for. . .

Packed hilarity and heartbreak, this new novel from bestselling author Olivia Beirne follows two estranged sisters who learn more about each other from a house swap than they ever expected… Perfect for fans of Beth O’Leary and Marian Keyes.


Title : House Swap
Author : Olivia Beirne
Format : Paperback
Page Count : 347
Genre : Contemporary Romance
Publisher : Headline Eternal
Release Date : November 4, 2021

Reviewer : Micky
Rating : ★ ★ ★ ★


Micky’s 3.5-4 star review

Headlines:
Broken bonds
Tangled webs
New paths

House Swap was a witty contemporary fiction about twin sisters, estranged and worlds apart…or so it seemed. Katy and Rachel were a hot mess individually and even more of a hot mess of sisterly disconnection. At first, I didn’t really like either of them; it’s hard to watch the veiled sparring but equally I was laughing along with the house of cards being built.

This house swap when it played out was a catastrophe in the making but all the time, as a reader, I was willing this to be the thing that repaired their connection. Secrets were part of the daily menu and as these two found out more about the reality of each others’ lives, it was funny and poignant watching the pennies drop.

I enjoyed the reluctant communications that began to reveal affection and love. I also enjoyed the side stories going on in each location, what was happening in the respective neighbour situations. The miscommunications were sometimes tough to read but author never pushed to the point of frustration.

House Swap was a story that most will find some identifiable features in. Whether thats wanting to be or appear successful, wanting relationships to work or being in frustrating relationships, this book serves a slice of reality while keeping a light and witty narrative. This was an enjoyable escape for the weekend.

Thank you to Headline Eternal for the review copy.

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started