A LADY FOR A DUKE by Alexis Hall

A lush, sweeping queer historical romance from the bestselling author of Boyfriend Material-perfect for fans of Bridgerton, Evie Dunmore, and Lisa Kleypas!

When Viola Carroll was presumed dead at Waterloo she took the opportunity to live, at last, as herself. But freedom does not come without a price, and Viola paid for hers with the loss of her wealth, her title, and her closest companion, Justin de Vere, the Duke of Gracewood.

Only when their families reconnect, years after the war, does Viola learn how deep that loss truly was. Shattered without her, Gracewood has retreated so far into grief that Viola barely recognises her old friend in the lonely, brooding man he has become.

As Viola strives to bring Gracewood back to himself, fresh desires give new names to old feelings. Feelings that would have been impossible once and may be impossible still, but which Viola cannot deny. Even if they cost her everything, all over again.


Title : A Lady For A Duke
Author : Alexis Hall
Format : Physical
Page Count : 480
Genre : Historical Romance/LGBTQIAP
Publisher : Piatkus Books
Release Date : May 24, 2022

Reviewer : Micky
Rating : ★ ★ ★ ★


Micky’s 4 star review

Headlines:
Best friends then and now
Identity beautifully written
Angsty ride

A Lady For A Duke is something of a special historical romance because it features a trans main character. I have read another book of a similar era with this representation but nevertheless, this is such a welcome offering. All that said, Viola’s identity was often background and the dynamic between the couple was in the foreground.

There was such a complex friendship in this story, none of which I’m going to describe because it was impactful and emotional reading that shouldn’t be spoilt. Gracewood was a shell of a man when Viola found herself back in his life and secrets were everything. Suffice it to say, Hall wrote this whole story with care but in particular, Viola and Gracewood navigating the changes to their dynamic was pretty beautiful.

I really appeciated how the power between these two MCs was pitched. Viola was a strong woman in many ways and Gracewood was diminished physically but he was protective and an advocate for everything that Viola was.

“Forgive my language, but…fuck the world. I will change it for you if I have to.”

I loved the first half of this book, I felt the emotions so strongly in that section, simultaneously feeling mush for these two whilst feeling heartbroken in part. The second half was more plot driven than character driven which made for a full story. Overall, this was a memorable and valued story.

Thank you to Piatkus Books for the early review copy.

MURDER MOST ACTUAL by Alexis Hall

From the author of Boyfriend Material and Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake comes a cozy mystery that revisits the Golden Age of detective fiction, starring a heroine who’s more podcaster than private eye and topped with a lethal dose of parody — perfect for fans of Clue, Knives Out, and Only Murders in the Building!

When up-and-coming true crime podcaster Liza and her corporate financier wife Hanna head to a luxurious hotel in the Scottish Highlands, they’re hoping for a chance to rekindle their marriage – not to find themselves trapped in the middle of an Agatha Christie-esque murder mystery with no way home. But who better to take on the case than someone whose entire profession relies on an obsession with all things mysterious and macabre? Though some of her fellow guests may consider her an interfering new media hack, Liza knows a thing or two about crime and – despite Hanna’s preference for waiting out the chaos behind a locked door – might be the only one capable of discovering the killer. As the bodies rack up and the stakes rise, can they save their marriage — and their lives?


Title : Murder Most Actual
Author : Alexis Hall
Format : eARC
Page Count : 302
Genre : Cosy Mystery/LGBTQIAP+
Publisher : Kobo Original
Release Date : November 9, 2021

Reviewer :  Micky
Rating : ★ ★ ★


Micky’s 3 star review

Headlines:
Marriage on the rocks
Murders around every corner
Banter for days

Cosy mysteries aren’t really my thing but Alexis Hall’s books are totally my thing, so I thought I’d give this read a try. I liked it, but I didn’t love it.

Murder Most Actual was purposely farcical and far fetched but the characters, particularly Liza and Hanna had you buying into the story. The dialogue and banter between these two was honestly hilarious and had me laughing out loud numerous times. I enjoyed the background depiction of a marriage stalled and their attempts to find their way back to common ground. The murders pretty much thwarted this plan though.

“Did you not hear the scream?”
“Yes, I heard the scream.” Hanna was giving her a what-the-fuck look.
“That’s why I’m staying in bed.”

The cast of characters were an eclectic mix to put it mildly with only Hanna and Liza likeable. As bodies began to fall, working out the perpetrator was on the one hand, simple and on the other hand, more complex than I thought. Expect to be stretched to ridiculous ends and just go with the flow.

I loved the chapter headings, cluedo-style. While this cosy mystery didn’t always float my boat, Alexis Hall brought his signature humour to the table and made me like it more than I would have without his wit and intelligence behind the pen.

Thank you to Kobo/netgalley for the early review copy.

https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/murder-most-actual

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started