Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started

RECKLESS GIRLS by Rachel Hawkins

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set on an isolated Pacific island with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.

When Lux McAllister and her boyfriend, Nico, are hired to sail two women to a remote island in the South Pacific, it seems like the opportunity of a lifetime. Stuck in a dead-end job in Hawaii, and longing to travel the world after a family tragedy, Lux is eager to climb on board The Susannah and set out on an adventure. She’s also quick to bond with their passengers, college best friends Brittany and Amma. The two women say they want to travel off the beaten path. But like Lux, they may have other reasons to be seeking an escape.

Shimmering on the horizon after days at sea, Meroe Island is every bit the paradise the foursome expects, despite a mysterious history of shipwrecks, cannibalism, and even rumors of murder. But what they don’t expect is to discover another boat already anchored off Meroe’s sandy beaches. The owners of the Azure Sky, Jake and Eliza, are a true golden couple: gorgeous, laidback, and if their sleek catamaran and well-stocked bar are any indication, rich. Now a party of six, the new friends settle in to experience life on an exotic island, and the serenity of being completely off the grid. Lux hasn’t felt like she truly belonged anywhere in years, yet here on Meroe, with these fellow free spirits, she finally has a sense of peace.

But with the arrival of a skeevy stranger sailing alone in pursuit of a darker kind of good time, the balance of the group is disrupted. Soon, cracks begin to emerge: it seems that Brittany and Amma haven’t been completely honest with Lux about their pasts––and perhaps not even with each other. And though Jake and Eliza seem like the perfect pair, the rocky history of their relationship begins to resurface, and their reasons for sailing to Meroe might not be as innocent as they first appeared.

When it becomes clear that the group is even more cut off from civilization than they initially thought, it starts to feel like the island itself is closing in on them. And when one person goes missing, and another turns up dead, Lux begins to wonder if any of them are going to make it off the island alive.


Title : Reckless Girls
Author : Rachel Hawkins
Format : eBook (overdrive)
Page Count : 320
Genre : mystery / thriller
Publisher : St. Martin’s Press
Release Date : January 4, 2022

Reviewer : Hollis
Rating : ★ ★ ★


Hollis’ 3 star review

So, while this isn’t getting a rave review or rating, I will say that I found it hard to pull myself away from this and also really liked how the story was told and also unfolded. Will I remember it in a few weeks or, even, months? I don’t know. It definitely has unique elements that will stand out but the details? Hard to say.

If you like island settings, or boats, or isolated anything and anywhere, you will absolutely be into this one. The setting was definitely a stand out. The characters.. well, they had their moments.

While we do get some backstory, and motivations, for our cast of characters, they didn’t get much more than surface level. Likely because we didn’t need anything more from them as they served their purpose; particularly once said purposes were revealed. This could likely be equated to an action flick where the effects dazzle and distract from anything else. And that’s totally fine, a-okay, I love to consume that kind of content. And I enjoyed consuming this, too.

Probably the only thing I actually disliked (beyond a certain bit of main character hypocrisy that made me grind my teeth) was the final chapter. I was totally fine with how things wrapped with the conflict but that final tease? Eh, left me wanting.

While I’ve enjoyed, though not loved, this author’s recent forays into adult titles and will continue to pick her up. I continue to hesitate about recommending said titles, however, but I’ll say that if this sounds like your thing.. it might be your thing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: