THIS WOVEN KINGDOM by Tahereh Mafi

Clashing empires, forbidden romance, and a long-forgotten queen destined to save her people—bestselling author Tahereh Mafi’s first in an epic, romantic trilogy inspired by Persian mythology.

To all the world, Alizeh is a disposable servant, not the long-lost heir to an ancient Jinn kingdom forced to hide in plain sight.

The crown prince, Kamran, has heard the prophecies foretelling the death of his king. But he could never have imagined that the servant girl with the strange eyes, the girl he can’t put out of his mind, would one day soon uproot his kingdom—and the world.

Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Tomi Adeyemi, and Sabaa Tahir, this is the explosive first book in a new fantasy trilogy from the New York Times bestselling and National Book Award-nominated author Tahereh Mafi.


Title : This Woven Kingdom
Author : Tahereh Mafi
Series : This Woven Kingdom #1
Format : Physical
Page Count : 495
Genre : YA Fantasy
Publisher : Electric Monkey Books
Release Date : February 3, 2022

Reviewer : Micky
Rating : ★ ★ ★ ★ ★


Micky’s 4.5 star review (rounded the heck up)

Headlines:
Those eyes, hands, fire and ice
Poverty and royalty
Sweeping connection

Mafi has created a world I want to exist in as a reader (not as a person), she brought uniqueness coupled with familiarity of vibe and Middle Eastern folklore. I was enamoured by it, beckoned into the story and characters and I’m sad it’s over…for now.

Alizeh was a servant of the lowest capacity, wearing her hands to sores, having barely any time to sleep and yet she was a Jinn and meant for more. It was easy to be lured into her character; she was humble but wiley, invisible but strong and I loved seeing the increasing glances of all she might become.

Kamran was the prince of the land, back from recent battles and really not in the know about how his kingdom was run. There were dreams, real glimpses of one another and intrigue. I loved how that connection built, even though it was over a shortish period of time. I felt the chemistry, the forbidden sides of their star-crossed ties.

“Surely you must see,” she said.
“There exists no bridge between our lives, no path that connects our worlds.”

The lands, how the priviledged lived, made avid reading from Alizeh’s perspective. I really liked some of the side characters like Omid, the apothecarist, the firefly. The jury is out on how I feel about Hazan, Miss Huda and I definitely didn’t like the blue-eyed stranger.

This story finished with an almighty bang of course and I have taken notes so I am fresh when it comes to book two. I hope you find this to be the same kind of whisk-you-away read that I did; definitely a favourite of the year so far.

Thank you to Electric Monkey books for the early review copy.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: