ANTICIPATED APRIL 2020 RELEASES

Each month, we’ll be putting together a list of our top most anticipated releases; from romance, to sci-fi, to fantasy, and everything in between. These releases might be ones we’re counting down the days for or ones we’ve already read and want you to read (and love!), too.

What you do need to bear in mind is that living on different continents we have different release dates. So as a general rule there might be some repeats from one month to the next.. it’s not that we’re just being weird. Though we can’t dismiss that totally out of turn.


For April, our hotly anticipated titles, in chronological order, are :


If you like the chosen one trope, the CHOSEN ONES by Veronica Roth takes a flawed slant on this idea. This is an adult fantasy and the characters were a bunch of chosen ones after saving the world. It is out on April 7, 2020

RULES FOR BEING A GIRL by Candace Bushell & Katie Contungo is out on April 7, 2020. Through a high school story, this book explores the experience of grooming and sexual exploitation in a way that is not for the feint of heart. It isn’t graphic but the perpetrators and characters surrounding the protagonist are infuriating. An important read for young adults.

EMPIRE OF DREAMS by Rae Carson is a highly anticipated, though mostly unexpected, addition to the Girl of Fire and Thorns series. This is a standalone that I don’t think anyone expected and you can dive face first back into this world on April 7, 2020.

RUTHLESS GODS by Emily A Duncan is the sequel to the dark bloody WICKED SAINTS and continues being dark and bloody and twisty. You can get your hands on this one on April 7, 2020.

YOU DESERVE EACH OTHER by Sarah Hogle is a strange twist on a hate to love featuring a couple that is already engaged to be married. Say what? You can find out all about it on April 7, 2020.

THE HAPPY EVER AFTER PLAYLIST by Abby Jimenez is a book we’re sure everyone who read THE FRIEND ZONE is going to pick up. This book follows one of the side characters from the author’s debut and, if you know what happened, you know it’ll feature a heaping portion of emotions and feels and.. more. Find out how much more, and what that means, on April 14, 2020.

TIME OF OUR LIVES by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka is “a reflective, romantic coming-of-age novel that explores life after high school–perfect for fans of Fangirl and Emergency Contact.” Out April 21, 2020.

GIRL GONE VIRAL by Alisha Rai was a cute, second in the series. This book focuses on Katrina who lays low in life generally but a supposed meet-cute goes viral and exposes her to nefarious interest. There’s a bodyguard Jas and its a fun story. This one is out on April 21, 2020

THE GIRL AND THE STARS by Mark Lawrence releases on April 21, 2020. It is the first in a new series but set in the world of The Book of the Ancestor series (yet different environment). Micky will be reviewing this one.

Q is the highly anticipated next offering by Christina Dalcher and it releases on April 30, 2020. It isn’t related to Vox but it tackles another dystopian earth, similar but slightly removed from our own. In this book, it is intellect that is central to everything, the Q (IQ) decides your rank in life and the impact is creepily scary.


What titles are you looking forward to this month? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s